Kevin Dickerson announces "Ginger Grapefruit"

Kevin Dickerson: Ginger Grapefruit

Loom Records. December 13, 2019.

Ginger Grapefruit is Kevin Dickerson's fourth full-length album of original music. Ginger Grapefruit was written and recorded from August 4, 2018 – February 28, 2019, during yet another period of displacement following an accidental flood in March, 2018.

Kevin Dickerson's memoir-like approach to lyrical themes create an interconnected world that doubles down on experimentation and pushing the boundary of what it means to be a songwriter today. Some of the poetic themes contrasting across 60 minutes include more deaths from accidental narcotics overdoses in the age of the opioid epidemic, natural disasters (including a highway-splitting subarctic earthquake), wildfires, the inane inevitability of more American mass shootings, the movie Roma by director Alfonso Cuarón, the latest "overdose or heart attack death" of your latest celebrity hero (was it Daniel Johnston, David Berman, or someone else?), Mexican muralism, the unexpectedly touching story of receiving the gift of citrus-scented deoderant, displacement, the appointment of the abusive Brett Kavanaugh to the United States Supreme Court, feelings of longing for Mexico, admiration for the HBO series Barry, running into Meric Long (The Dodos) at a concert and relishing time spent with music, bathroom renovations, a loving cover of Puerto Rican songwriter Jose Feliciano's Feliz Navidad recorded on December 24th, 2018, and a blanket apology to Phoebe Bridgers for being unable to keep up with the truth. While many artists contrast the beauty of mundane life with the chaos, Kevin Dickerson's Ginger Grapefruit offers an inimitable and un-coverable personal take on life's daily complications in a way that has never sounded so beautiful.

Track list:

  1. Twitch
  2. Roma
  3. Until Then I'm Going to Keep Working
  4. Ginger Grapefruit
  5. Imbalances
  6. The Snow Fell Silently from Spruce Trees and Naked Birch Branches
  7. There Are Only Beginnings
  8. Feliz Navidad